This and that: Review
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

GlobeIn Subscription

Do you like getting surprises in the mail? 
 How about artisan made products from around the world?
Intrigued yet?

Friday, August 22, 2014

Asiago Honey Garlic Turkey Panini

At the beginning of the month I shared with you that I received some product from a new company (or at least new to me) called Gourmet Warehouse.  Today I want to share with you a panini sandwich that I made with one of their injectables.

Monday, August 4, 2014

Oven Cherry Jalapeno BBQ Chicken with Cherry Salsa

I am so excited to tell you about a new company that I have had the opportunity to learn about.  The company is called Gourmet Warehouse and I was given products to try and review.  First before I get into the products and what I have made with them, I have to thank a good friend of mine, Cynthia from Feeding Big  for letting me know about this company.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Flow by Simpleware Cutting Board and a Recipe

I am always excited to bring to you my readers something that I think is wonderful.  For one thing I like to know about products from others before I try them and I am sure you are the same.

Monday, May 5, 2014

Fun, Sun and South Seas Island Resort

This past week two friends and myself headed off to Captiva Island, Florida to celebrate our 50th Birthdays. We were lucky enough to be able to spend it at South Seas Island Resort...  South Seas Island Resort is located on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico on Captiva Island.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Ginger Honey Apple Sauce

First, I have to say that I love being a blogger and I love being able to try new products and bring them to my readers.  It makes my day when my readers let me know that they have tried the product on my recommendations.  Today I have a new product for you.

Friday, February 28, 2014

Tribes-A- Dozen Voilà! Hallah Egg Bread Mixes Review and Giveaway

Have you ever wanted to make fresh bread but worried that it won't turn out if you do it from scratch? Well you can have homemade bread that tastes like you slaved for hours in the kitchen without even breaking a sweat.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Almondina Cookie Review

Disclaimer:  I was given Almondina product to review.  All opinion are 100% mine


photo credit: Almondina Biscuit

Almondina Cookie Review

I was asked to review Almondina Biscuits and I am sure glad that I did.. These cookies/biscuits are wonderful, so full of flavour and just downright yummy.   The day that they came in the mail, we opened a couple of the packages right away... scarfing them down right out of the package.  Both hubby and I loved them.

You have never heard of Almondina Biscuits... well let me tell you a little about them.  These are Grandma's secret recipes and everyone knows that Grandma makes the best cookies.

'Generous as she was in giving away her recipes, Grandmother Dina kept the one for Petit Gateau Sec a total secret until the end of her life. Only then did she finally reveal the secret to her daughter, Ahuda, my mother. It is with her blessing and with pride that the Zaliouk family shares these delicious, healthful wonders with your family.”
I, for one am very glad that she gave her blessing and these cookies are on the market.  They are all natural, no added salt or fat, no cholesterol or preservatives, just good taste.   The only fat in these biscuits are from the almonds which is the main ingredient.  They are low in calories also ~ 30 calories per slice, are kosher and pareve (no dairy) and are made right here in America. Along with the original flavour they have a total of 8 flavours of biscuits... and so far I like them all.  I am lucky as I get to eat the Cinnaroma all by myself as hubby doesn't like anything with cinnamon so won't even try them.. Not that I am complaining. 



As you can see in the above picture they are chock full of almonds and raisins.  They are crunchy, addictive (I can attest to this) and healthy.  Once our supply is gone, all I have to do is hope that I can buy them here locally as this is a cookie that I will be continuing to eat.  It is perfect for any occasion and sweet enough that I feel that I am having a treat and healthy that I don't have to worry about going off my New Year's goal of eating healthy.

If you want more information about this delightful cookie head over to their almondia or follow them on facebook or twitter.


I like them with a cup of coffee or tea or even just alone.  They are the perfect snack for us.


Almondina's Mission is accomplished...

"To Put a delicious healthful cookie on every table"


Image and video hosting by TinyPic


Enhanced by Zemanta

Friday, December 13, 2013

Apple Cranberry Croissants and a Sugar Review

Have you heard of Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar?  It is a sugar that is minimally processed which you can tell as soon as you open the bag.  The sugar has a slight tan colour instead of white.  I also like that it doesn't taste as sweet as regular white sugar does and can still use less of it and my baking or cooking tastes wonderful.  Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar can be used cup for cup of regular sugar. Zulka Sugar is coarser so when I use egg white and sprinkle the sugar over my baking for example sweet bread, the sugar doesn't dissolve and you can still see some of the crystals after baking.

I have been using this sugar for a while and contacted the company to let them know that I loved their sugar. They replied back to me and asked if I would like some for my holiday baking... Of course I said yes, who doesn't like free things.  I offered to do a review for them as I am that kind of gal.  When I find a product that I like, I want to let you all know about it.  The free stuff is just a great perk.

I am also looking forward to some of their new products ~ brown sugar and powdered sugar.  They also have a Picante sugar that peaks my interest.

Now onto the recipe that uses this wonderful sugar....

Apple Cranberry Croissants


Ingredients:
2 cans Pilsbury Crescent ( I used the butter flake)
2 apples
Cranberries (1 per roll)
1/2 cup Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg*
1 egg white

1/4 cup butter
2 tsp heavy cream
1/8 cup Zulka Morena Pure Cane Sugar

Directions:
In small bowl mix sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Set aside.
Roll out crescents, If they don't roll out flat, use a rolling pin and roll them out flat.
Slice apples into 32 pieces, 1/2 apple will make 4 crescents.
Slice cranberries in half
Sprinkle sugar mixture over each crescent.
Place 2 half cranberries between 2 slices of apple at the large edge of the crescent.
Roll fruit into the crescents from the wide end to the narrow.
Whisk egg yolk and brush to the top of each crescent roll.
Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes or until croissants are brown.
For Glaze:  In a small pan add butter, heavy cream, 1/8 sugar mixture and 1/8 cup Zulka Sugar.
Over medium heat, bring to boil stirring to dissolve the sugar.
Remove from heat and drizzle over each croissant.

Notes: 
* I would add a little more nutmeg next time as I couldn't really taste it and I love nutmeg.
Next time I make these I am going to add a little more apple and cranberries.  
You will have extra Cinnamon Sugar Mixture ~ save the leftovers and make cinnamon toast.
I did have extra glaze.. I let it sit until hardened and it tasted wonderful on a spoon.

I took this recipe to our Christmas Party at work and it got great reviews.  It is easy to make and great tasting. 

An added bonus if you already use Zulka Sugar or plan to buy it soon ~ 
 Zulka is hosting a Holiday Bake-Off Facebook contest for a chance to win $500 to Sur La Table!  Entering is easy:

1.           Create a recipe using Zulka Pure Cane Sugar
2.           Upload the recipe with an image of your creation to Zulka’s “Bake-Off” Facebook tab by December 22 for a chance to win a $500 gift card to Sur La Table!
Good Luck and let me know if your recipe wins. 


 Other recipes I have made with Zulka Sugar:  Homemade Cranberry Sauce,  Baked Beans ,  Pumpkin Spice Syrup and Seared Gingerbread Tenderloin with Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms.  As you can see with these examples this sugar can be used in any type of cooking.


Disclaimer:  I did receive this product and was in no way under any obligation to do a review.  All opinions are 100% mine.

LINKS: Create it or Bake it, In and Out of the Kitchen , Blogger's Best of 2013
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Enhanced by Zemanta

Monday, December 2, 2013

Belight Tea Review

A couple of weeks ago I received an email Toffler asking me if I would like to try a new tea.   In the email it mentioned that this tea helps with digestion, metabolism and reduces snacking.  I am in and sent back my reply right away.

Monday, October 14, 2013

Natural Herbal Living E- Magazine ~ Ginger Review and a Giveaway

I love the smell of gingerbread cooking in the oven.  Nothing beats the taste of a fresh ginger cookie.
 Did you know that Ginger has other uses then just for baking? 
The October issue of the Natural Herbal Living Magazine talks all about Ginger.